This building is an ancient cathedral, as ther was a Bishop in Die from the first centuries of the Church and until 1801. Nowadays, it is the Bishop of Valence who has the title as Bishop of Die.
Die, important Roman town since the beginning of the IInd century, captal of the Vocincii of the south.
Christianity came during the IIIrd century, together with the Bishop Nicause ( who participated at the Nicéan council in 325)
The Cathedral consisted of three church buildings: The cathedral itself, dedicated to the Holy Apostles, the Baptism- building (under the parking of the "Place de la République") with its cimetery for newborn children and a cloister ( the present "Place de la République"). This building was taken down during the religious wars, and, finally, a block of houses with lodging for the curates.
The Cathedral Saint Mary, as we can see it today, is the final result of several cathedrals. The oldes part is the sacristy, from the XIth century. The bell-tower and the porche, are from the end of the XIIth century. The nave (unique) from the beginning of the XIIIth century.
During the religious wars, the cathedral was severely dammaged. The side -nave was destroyed, the building became a ruin and a carrier for cut stones. The gable of the western entreance is black of ashes from a fire. It represents a crucified Christ and around him the four animals representing the four gospels: the tetramorphe. On the inside of the cathedral a unique nave 15 metres large and 17 metres high.